royal exchange square

Moderators: John, Sharon, Fossil, Lucky Poet, crusty_bint, Jazza, dazza

royal exchange square

Postby woodie20 » Sun Nov 26, 2006 8:13 pm

Hi Everyone, I am about to start a research project on the role of royal exchange quare in the cultural redevelopment of glasgow, and I am just trying to get some glaswegian views on how the square has changed since the GoMA opened (I'm a newbie to the city).

Particulary interested in what happened to the original shops, and whether people feel the square has lost its identity since the opening of 'upmarket' shops?

Also anyone's opinions on the square as a goth/skater hangout and whether it has always been an area where goths and skaters meet up?
woodie20
Busy bunny
Busy bunny

Re: royal exchange square

Postby potatojunkie » Tue Dec 19, 2006 8:56 pm

woodie20 wrote:Also anyone's opinions on the square as a goth/skater hangout and whether it has always been an area where goths and skaters meet up?

Goths and skaters used to meet up at the Virginia Galleries. Following its closure, they moved to "the boxes", a rather motley assortment of plant boxes (since removed) which sat outside Virgin Records on Argyle Street. There was an exodus to the GOMA mid-1999, where the numbers grew until you could hardly see the building. GOMA staff retaliated by putting "Four Seasons" on a perpetual bloody loop, without much success.

Yes, I used to go hang out there when I was wee. I am not ashamed.
potatojunkie
Third Stripe
Third Stripe

Postby Dugald » Tue Dec 19, 2006 9:42 pm

woodie20 wrote:
Particulary interested in what happened to the original shops, and whether people feel the square has lost its identity since the opening of 'upmarket' shops?