Re: high rise living

Moderators: John, Sharon, Fossil, Lucky Poet, crusty_bint, Jazza, dazza

Postby lisaboyd86 » Mon Apr 16, 2012 9:55 pm

Hi all,

I’m a photography student in Glasgow and currently doing a documentary photography project on high rise living and regeneration in Glasgow. I have been on a few simular sites and was wondering of anyone on here could contribute.

Wondering if anyone on here could shed some light on what people’s feelings are on regeneration of many of these blocks. Do you feel that this type of regeneration is beneficial to the community and the occupants who lived there? What is it like to live in a larger than normal environment and are the common conceptions of high rise tower blocks true.

I would be interested in residents who have or are currently living in a high rise flat. Who would be interested in a short interview and or a photograph (photographs don’t need to be identifiable to the person).

Thanks,
Lisa
lisaboyd86
Just settling in
Just settling in

Postby RapidAssistant » Wed Apr 25, 2012 11:59 am

Welcome to HG :))

I can't comment on living in a high rise, as I have never done so, apart from visit people who do, so I can only really state my general feelings on them as an outsider.

Emotionally, I would miss a Glasgow without its tower blocks, as I grew up with them on the skyline; and I think that is going to be a pheonomenon amongst the under-50s increasingly, and this is what is fuelling the Brutalist conservation movement which has gained momentum in recent years.