Lockerbie Remembered

Moderators: John, Sharon, Fossil, Lucky Poet, crusty_bint, Jazza, dazza

Lockerbie Remembered

Postby peter » Sun Dec 21, 2008 8:28 pm

Twenty years ago today I had been working near Southampton for several months. My wife back home in Glasgow with our four sons. The youngest was about 12 months and the oldest was 11. I had done some Christmas shopping before heading north. Normally I would have flown or taken the train but loaded with presents I decided to drive. My cars brake servo was also needing fixed.
Heading north I drove listening to tapes as my radio was not working. Grinding my way home in heavy traffic past places like Birmingham the day wore on. As I crossed the border it was wet and windy. A few miles south of Lockerbie the mass of northbound traffic came to a complete halt. To the north the sky had an ominous glow. Rumour spread down the lines of stalled traffic. IRA bomb in petrol station. This was at the time of the troubles so what else could it be.
Eventually we were directed off the motorway on to side roads. The cops gave us a choice. Head west towards Ayrshire coast roads or east towards Edinburgh on country roads. I found myself behind a truck heading for Whiteinch so it seemed a good idea to follow him. However after a few miles he pulled into a layby for the night. I drove on in darkness, driving rain and wind on narrow winding roads. Through the deserted towns of Selkirk, Hawick etc.
Eventually I emerged back on to motorway at Moffat and eventually arrived home in the very early hours exhausted to a frantic wife.
It was only then I heard what had happened. A night I will never forget and am only glad it was dark as the area I drove through was where much of the plane wa spread across.
"I've seen them come and I've seen them go. And I've seen them Die"
peter
Third Stripe
Third Stripe

Re: Lockerbie Remembered

Postby glasgowken » Sun Dec 21, 2008 8:35 pm