Firefox

Moderators: John, Sharon, Fossil, Lucky Poet, crusty_bint, Jazza, dazza

firefox

Postby McShad » Tue Sep 13, 2005 6:09 am

I'm guessing you are a firefox user Apollo?
User avatar
McShad
Third Stripe
Third Stripe
 
Posts: 1813
Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2005 5:53 pm
Location: Ibrox, Glasgow

Postby Vladimir » Tue Sep 13, 2005 9:35 am

So am I ::):
User avatar
Vladimir
Third Stripe
Third Stripe
 
Posts: 1830
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 9:40 am
Location: Confédération Générale du Travail

Postby mrlipring » Tue Sep 13, 2005 1:42 pm

are there many people who, given the choice/knowledge of alternative to IE that aren't? :wink:
User avatar
mrlipring
Third Stripe
Third Stripe
 
Posts: 759
Joined: Fri Jul 02, 2004 7:40 pm
Location: The Royal Burgh

Postby Apollo » Tue Sep 13, 2005 4:56 pm

You said it mrl, until M1cr0s0ft get their IE7 clone out, complete with the Activex sluice gates no doubt.

Firefox 1.5 beta is now avaialble for anyone that want to have a sniff around the Mozilla/Firefox site. I've been using it for a few weeks now with no problems.

Might just be a bit faster, and has few tweaks.
User avatar
Apollo
Third Stripe
Third Stripe
 
Posts: 2283
Joined: Sun May 09, 2004 10:26 pm
Location: Glasgow

Postby engineer » Tue Sep 13, 2005 9:13 pm

User avatar
engineer
Third Stripe
Third Stripe
 
Posts: 790
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2005 9:33 pm
Location: media quarter

Postby nuttytigger » Wed Sep 14, 2005 11:59 am

firefox is better, as is thunderbird!!!
User avatar
nuttytigger
Third Stripe
Third Stripe
 
Posts: 1672
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2004 11:31 am

Postby stinkpad » Wed Sep 14, 2005 8:45 pm

Firefox in work, Safari at home :D
User avatar
stinkpad
Third Stripe
Third Stripe
 
Posts: 403
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2004 1:42 pm
Location: Cathcart

Postby Schiehallion » Thu Sep 15, 2005 11:38 am

Firefox too.
User avatar
Schiehallion
Third Stripe
Third Stripe
 
Posts: 1625
Joined: Sat Mar 20, 2004 9:32 pm

Postby nuttytigger » Thu Sep 15, 2005 5:42 pm

i've never heard of Safari, well i think i have, is that Apple's browser?

I was reluctant to go to Firefox (thought IE was brilliant :oops: )

but now i am using it, i wont go back!
User avatar
nuttytigger
Third Stripe
Third Stripe
 
Posts: 1672
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2004 11:31 am

Postby McShad » Thu Sep 15, 2005 5:47 pm

Whatever happened to Netscape Navigator?

Commonly known as Nutscrape
User avatar
McShad
Third Stripe
Third Stripe
 
Posts: 1813
Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2005 5:53 pm
Location: Ibrox, Glasgow

Postby stinkpad » Thu Sep 15, 2005 7:02 pm

McShad wrote:Whatever happened to Netscape Navigator?

Commonly known as Nutscrape


They got sold to AOL, opened up their codebase which became known as mozilla and AOL took their netscape builds off of that. Firefox is an attempt to build a fast, lean browser and is part of the mozilla project. you can still download netscape at http://browser.netscape.com/ns8/ but to be honest, you're better off with mozilla.
User avatar
stinkpad
Third Stripe
Third Stripe
 
Posts: 403
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2004 1:42 pm
Location: Cathcart

Postby Evil-Scotsman » Fri Sep 16, 2005 9:12 am

as said above Firefox is an all round better browser. Supposedly safer too and you just can't beat the tabbed browsing :D
User avatar
Evil-Scotsman
Just settling in
Just settling in
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2005 2:04 pm

Postby engineer » Wed Oct 19, 2005 8:13 pm

been getting umwanted flash based popups with ff recently, this seems to be a work around
1. Type about:config into the Firefox location bar.
2. Right-click on the page and select New and then Integer.
3. Name it privacy.popups.disable_from_plugins
4. Set the value to 2.

The possible values are:

* 0: Allow all popups from plugins.
* 1: Allow popups, but limit them to dom.popup_maximum.
* 2: Block popups from plugins.
* 3: Block popups from plugins, even on whitelisted sites.
User avatar
engineer
Third Stripe
Third Stripe
 
Posts: 790
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2005 9:33 pm
Location: media quarter

Postby Apollo » Wed Oct 19, 2005 11:58 pm

I've loaded the 1.5 beta release, which seems to kill those offending popups too.

One warning though, if you need Java functionality, then the beta's not for you, as I've not seen a webcam image since I loaded it (though I did a parallel install since it's a beta, and can fire up 1.x if I need to).

It's not supposedly safer, it is safer since it simply doesn't (can't) run Microdaft's Activex etc. code.

I run IE elsewhere, and I'm fed up getting the popup that tells me there's yet another 'Critical Security update' I MUST download and install to fix IE yet again.
User avatar
Apollo
Third Stripe
Third Stripe
 
Posts: 2283
Joined: Sun May 09, 2004 10:26 pm
Location: Glasgow

Postby scotia47 » Thu Oct 20, 2005 12:07 pm

Another note about the beta is that certain extensions (the Google Toolbar, for example) may not work with it.
scotia47
Second Stripe
Second Stripe
 
Posts: 353
Joined: Wed May 05, 2004 9:24 pm

Next

Return to Random Distractions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests

cron